We’ve updated our Terms of Use to reflect our new entity name and address. You can review the changes here.
We’ve updated our Terms of Use. You can review the changes here.

The Great Upheaval

by Oikos

  • Digital Album
    Streaming + Download

    Includes unlimited streaming via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.
    Purchasable with gift card

      €5 EUR  or more

    You own this


  • Limited Edition 12" Vinyl
    Record/Vinyl + Digital Album

    This LP is the result of a co-release between Envelope Collective and Knockturne Records. Pressed on 150g black vinyl w/ inner black sleeve.

    FOR REGISTERED MAIL, PLEASE ORDER FROM E/C WEBSITE: www.envelopecollective.org/product/oikos-the-great-upheaval

    Includes unlimited streaming of The Great Upheaval via the free Bandcamp app, plus high-quality download in MP3, FLAC and more.

    Sold Out

Joik 05:58
Arch 07:02


The Great Upheaval is an imaginary soundtrack for every moment in history ravaged by violence and superstition. A collection of pieces projecting landscapes dusted by seizures and turmoils.

These layered compositions are packed of electricity and analogue walls, acoustic textures, drone strings and cinematic looped-movements.
A sonic cathedral illuminated only by the fire that remains after battle and precedes the cult. A sonic miasma for each end of cycle.

“Slow, deliberate, spacious, and carries weight in its empty spaces” - Invisibles Oranges

“Allows time for expansive builds before bursting into dark eruptions” - A closer listen

“a slow burning apocalyptic dream where you watch the black clouds roll in from over the plains spelling D-R-E-A-D across the sky. […] nothing short of excellent” - Antigravity Bunny


released January 13, 2017

All music written and produced by Rafael Femiano.
Drums and percussions by Felipe Pavón.

Recorded between 2015- 2016 at La Mina Studios by Raúl Pérez.

Mixed by Rafael Femiano.
Additional recording and mixing by Javier Ortiz at Estudios Brazil.
Mastered by James Plotkin.

Guest musicans:
David Cordero: guitar, synth (1)
Raúl Pérez: bass (1, 2)
John Kolodij: drums (3)
Marco Serrato: upright bass (4, 5)
Juan G. Acosta: guitar (4)
Xavier Castroviejo: chants and libations (4)
María Gil: echoes (3)

Pictures: “Wild Horses. Smoke Creek Desert, 1951” by Gus Bundy
(Courtesy of Tina Nappe and University of Nevada, Reno).
“A Harvest of Death, 1863” by Timoth H. O’Sullivan.

Design: David Caramés


all rights reserved



Envelope Collective Madrid, Spain

permeable music since MMIX

contact / help

Contact Envelope Collective

Streaming and
Download help

Shipping and returns

Redeem code

Report this album or account